top of page
Instrumental Music Album A Time for Storm by Hong Kong Artist Norvik


Release Date: March 13th, 2020

Released by: Valley View Records



Apple Music

1. Ocean Gyre

2. Lost in a Crowd

3. Sanctuary

4. Drowned Innocence

5. Changing the Past

6. A World Undone

7. Nothing Lasts Forever

8. Snowfall in June

9. The Skies Are Purple

10. We Can Only Go On

A time for calm, a time for storm. 

Come what may, because come they will.

A Time For Storm was created during a time of turmoil.  The past year has been difficult for me and my city, Hong Kong, where a lot of things that we thought would last forever were taken away.  It was a wakeup call, that nothing really lasts forever and taking things for granted only leads to distress when those things are gone.


The album is a testament to these kinds of times, which come when least expected, but will always surely come.  When they do come, rest assured that your world will change and your values will be challenged.  But also rest assured that they will pass, and what emerges as a result depends on how you handled the storm.


All tracks were built around a piano melody, and each additional element was added to complement this.   A Time For Storm is a blending of genres and styles to create a loving tribute to difficult times.

A Time For Storm is about embracement.

"Piano, marginal string support and the synth passages often form an acoustic unit that results in pure sound aesthetics. Even warm and sensitive natural sounds are integrated in order to set a harmonious sound image in the frame. The experimental level is always manageable and minimal, on the album there is a soulful aura of romantic melancholy, which culminates in an essence in some titles."


"His most recent album “A Time For Storm” (Valley View Records) shows the growth in his music very nicely, balancing the orchestral and piano elements very nicely."

DRIFTING, ALMOST FALLING (A Collection Of Artists)

"The music highlights just how far Chan has come with the sound of the pieces becoming richer and more varied. There are similarities that go back to his debut “Messages To No One” and other parts of his albums like “Echo Theory”, but with “A Time For Storm” it all comes together on a grander scale."


"The last stage of his personal storm shelter consists of ten tracks, all built starting from fragile melodies on the piano, framed by the measured arrangements of a muffled environment, with sinuous resonances."


bottom of page